In 2010, the coaching staff created the ‘Rudy’ Award to recognize the Kennedy player who was the hardest working member of the team during the 2009 season, Dariel 'Rudy' Perez.  Coach Cheske nicknamed him 'Rudy', after the inspirational story of Daniel 'Rudy' Ruettiger, the central figure of the classic football film Rudy.  Today, Mr. Ruettiger travels the U.S. as a motivational speaker, urging his audiences to 'Dream Big and Never Quit'.
Dariel earned the nickname from this same approach to football and life.  Whether it was in practice or a game, 'Rudy' did everything at 100 mph, giving 110% at all times.  He was a natural leader who was an obvious choice to be a senior captain in the 2010 season.
In 2013, we tragically lost Dariel Perez in a car accident.  The 'Rudy' Award is now given to honor the memory of Dariel 'Rudy' Perez, Class of 2011.  The 'Rudy' is given to the player who best exemplifies the same character, courage and commitment to the Kennedy Eagles football program as our beloved 'Rudy' so many years ago.
The 'Rudy' honorees, 2010-present...
2010-Dariel Perez
2011-Cesar Nunez
2012-Jake D'Alusio
2013-Jacob Gonzalez
2014-Thomas Ouellette
2015-Josh 'Bubba' Rivera
2016-Jacob Dinklocker
2017-Edmund Edgehill, Nytoni Jones, Evel Pacheco
2018-Eddie Negron, Zech Rountree
2019-Hector Ginorio
2021-Jaylen Castillo
2022-Nick Colon